Skip to main content

AFT Massachusetts 2021 Scholarship Program

Every year AFT Massachusetts awards thousands of dollars in scholarships to eligible high school seniors who are dependents of AFT Massachusetts members. The awards, named in honor of former AFT leaders Kathy Kelley, Albert Shanker and Sandra Feldman, and for long-time AFT Massachusetts field representative Jay Porter, are awarded on the basis of a labor history exam administered by the Massachusetts AFL-CIO. 
“Now more than ever, it’s important for young people to understand the role of labor unions in our country’s history,” said AFT Massachusetts President Beth Kontos. “AFT Massachusetts is proud to offer these college scholarships to students who are part of our union family.”
Program eligibility and application
To be considered for a scholarship the student must be a dependent of an AFT Massachusetts member and a high school senior. The student must also attend a college or other post-secondary school in the fall of the following academic year.
2020 AFT Massachusetts Recipients
Kathleen A. Kelley Scholarship Award
Tyler Nolan - Chelmsford High School
Albert Shanker Scholarship Award
Matthew Lyons - Framingham High School
Kian McCabe - Saugus High School
Mary McCloskey - Littleton High School
Louisa Sullivan - Braintree High School
Aine Powers - Holliston High School
Sandra Feldman Scholarship Award
Riley Birchall - North Andover High School
Andrew Wallace - Bishop Fenwick High School
Jay Porter Scholarship Award
Kyle McGinnis - Foxboro High School
Congratulations to all the recipients of the 2020 Scholarship Awards!

Share This