Skip to main content

AFT Massachusetts 2020 Scholarship Program

Every year AFT Massachusetts awards thousands of dollars in scholarships to eligible high school seniors who are dependents of AFT Massachusetts members. The awards, named in honor of former AFT leaders Kathy Kelley, Albert Shanker and Sandra Feldman, and for long-time AFT Massachusetts field representative Jay Porter, are awarded on the basis of a labor history exam administered by the Massachusetts AFL-CIO

“Now more than ever, it’s important for young people to understand the role of labor unions in our country’s history,” said AFT Massachusetts President Beth Kontos. “AFT Massachusetts is proud to offer these college scholarships to students who are part of our union family.”

Program eligibility and application

To be considered for a scholarship the student must be a dependent of an AFT Massachusetts member and a high school senior. The student must also attend a college or other post-secondary school in the fall of the following academic year.

  • Scholarship Applications are due, Friday, December 20, 2019.
  • This school year's Labor History Exam will be given February 10, 2020. 

Click here to learn more and to register for the Massachusetts AFL-CIO Scholarship Program.  

2019 AFT Massachusetts Recipients

Kathleen A. Kelley Scholarship Award

  • Bethany Sheehan – Lowell High School 

Albert Shanker Scholarship Award 

  • Cathleen Cassels – Chelmsford High School
  • Isabelle Cole – Chelmsford High School
  • Ryan Hocker – Thayer Academy
  • Nicholas Naughton – Amesbury High School
  • Sedona Shepard – North Attleboro High School 

Sandra Feldman Scholarship Award 

  • Grace Burke – Boston Latin School
  • Marissa Langille – MA Academy of Math and Science

Jay Porter Scholarship Award

  • Tyler Ferrin – Minuteman Technical High School 

Additional scholarship opportunities

Share This