Skip to main content

2023 Scholarship Winners

Every year AFT Massachusetts awards thousands of dollars in scholarships to eligible high school seniors who are dependents of AFT Massachusetts members. The awards, named in honor of former AFT leaders Kathy Kelley, Albert Shanker and Sandra Feldman, and for long-time AFT Massachusetts field representative Jay Porter, are awarded on the basis of a labor history exam administered by the Massachusetts AFL-CIO. Pictured below: several of our 2023 scholarship winners attended our awards dinner on April 28, 2023 at the Edward Kennedy Institute for the US Senate.


 Congratulations to our 2023 Labor Scholarship Award Recipients.

Kathleen A. Kelley Scholarship Award
Shalyn Medailleu, Essex North Shore Agricultural & Technical School

Albert Shanker Scholarship Award
John Cavanaugh, Norwood High School  - Ethan Cliff,  Billerica Memorial High School - Devan Hernandez, Phillips Academy -  Samantha Kimball, Amesbury High School - Madison Reilly, Bishop Fenwick High School

Sandra Feldman Scholarship Award 
Declan Hocker, Archbishop Williams -  Lily McDonough, Malden Catholic

Jay Porter Scholarship Award 
Ronan Dowd, Chelmsford High School

Share This