Skip to main content

2024 Scholarship Winners

Every year AFT Massachusetts awards thousands of dollars in scholarships to eligible high school seniors who are dependents of AFT Massachusetts members. The awards, named in honor of former AFT leaders Kathy Kelley, Albert Shanker, and Sandra Feldman, and for long-time AFT Massachusetts Field Representative Jay Porter, are awarded on the basis of a labor history exam administered by the Massachusetts AFL-CIO. Pictured below: several of our 2024 scholarship winners attended our awards dinner on May 3, 2024 at the Edward Kennedy Institute for the US Senate.

Scholarship Winners Photos

Albert Shanker Scholarship Award

  • Sean Monteiro Gomes –  Boston College High School
  • Connor Goudreau - Timberlane High School
  • Christos Meimeteas – Hamilton Wenham Regional High School
  • Ryan Murphy – St. John's Prep High School
  • Grace Wilson – North Attleboro High School

Kathleen A. Kelley Scholarship Award

  • Stella Portadin – Mansfield High School

Sandra Feldman Scholarship Award

  • Sophia Lyons – Framingham High School
  • Matthew Maderos – Boston College High School

Jay Porter Scholarship Award

  • Madison Kelly – Bishop Feehan High School

Share This